Outstanding Educator Award

This prestigious award, endowed through The Bryan Area Foundation by the Benedict family in memory of Greg Benedict, is presented annually to one of Bryan’s outstanding educators. The following is the criteria to qualify for the award.

Each nominee must:

  1. Be currently employed as a teacher, administrator, or counselor by the Bryan City Schools a minimum of three (3) years.
  2. Model both competency and character to students and faculty.
  3. Make continuous and outstanding contributions to the education of students

Outstanding Educator Award Recipients

  • 2021 Recipient: Stephanie Mazur
  • 2020 Recipient: No Award
  • 2019 Recipient: Ben Osterland
  • 2018 Recipient: Jackie Boyd
  • 2017 Recipient: Ken Kuhn
  • 2016 Recipient: Veronica Arthur
  • 2015 Recipient: Matt Neff
  • 2014 Recipient: Betsy Zuver
  • 2013 Recipient: Michael Tippin
  • 2012 Recipient: Vickie Rathbun

2021: Pictured from left, representing the Benedict Family is Scott Benedict, presenting the 2021 Outstanding Educator Award to Stephanie Mazur.

2019: Pictured from left is Mark Miller, ABC President; Ben Osterland, Outstanding Educator; Scott Benedict representing the Benedict Family; and Diana Savage BHS Superintendent.
2018: Pictured from left is Scott Benedict representing the Benedict Family, Jackie Boyd Outstanding Educator, Ike the therapy dog, Mark Miller ABC President and Diana Savage BHS Superintendent.